Crass administrative requirements

Next week I have to travel to Brussels for a two-day meeting. Brussels, ‘Capital of Europe’, land of high-speed trains and efficient public transport. Not, Mogadishu, Gaza City, the Gorbals (look it up) or Vostok station. So, why do I need to fill in a risk assessment? This is a crass exercise that only adds to the ever-rising amount of administration we need to do. Our prefect is not helped by this, nor absolved of any responsibility. Rather he has to waste a further couple of minutes giving me the OK for my trip. I can accept that field work should be subject to risk assessment in all cases and travel outside the EU perhaps. But, ordering me to fill in a form to travel to an EU capital is just crass.

This entry was posted in Rants. Bookmark the permalink.